The Shabby Professor

Starting Member
I'm just getting into dressing, well, better, and I've been looking at some of the colorful vests that used to be popular, and which are making a resurgence with the steampunk fans. Just wondering, are these sort of loud paisleys and such (think of Sixsmith's waistcoat in Cloud Atlas) restricted to tuxedos and cosplay, or can they be added to a two-piece or sport coat and slacks ensemble? I like the idea of adding some more splashes of color, and, as my nickname suggests, I'm a university professor (of sorts) with a wide open dress code (colleagues' daily wear ranges from shorts and Ed Hardy to three-piece suits to kimono), but I don't want to look like I'm wearing swim fins and a hardhat with a tuxedo.....

Thanks for looking

-TSP

roba

Active Member with Corp. Privileges
Occasionally...

I'll wear this.

I've had it for about twenty years and still haven't got round to changing the buttons to silver - that goes to the top of the to-do list.

Flanderian

Connoisseur
I'm just getting into dressing, well, better, and I've been looking at some of the colorful vests that used to be popular, and which are making a resurgence with the steampunk fans. Just wondering, are these sort of loud paisleys and such (think of Sixsmith's waistcoat in Cloud Atlas) restricted to tuxedos and cosplay, or can they be added to a two-piece or sport coat and slacks ensemble? I like the idea of adding some more splashes of color, and, as my nickname suggests, I'm a university professor (of sorts) with a wide open dress code (colleagues' daily wear ranges from shorts and Ed Hardy to three-piece suits to kimono), but I don't want to look like I'm wearing swim fins and a hardhat with a tuxedo.....

Thanks for looking

-TSP