Cvaria

i want to buy some shoes but i need some questions answered.

(a) I'm looking at alden and AE for 3 pair of shoes. i need a basic set consisting black pair, a brown pair and a burgundy pair. i have about $1500 to spend. but want to stay WELL under that amount. the cordovan shells are expensive but i know they last a lifetime in the hands of caring folks. what about the calf versions? will they hold up, or start cracking? they are cheaper and i'm a poor grad student.

(b) are there any other makers or brands that i should considering? i want some shoes that will last, with great care and reheeling, 10+ years until i get to the point that i can easily go and buy a 6 or 7 hundred dollar pair of shoes on a whim.

(c) I bought my first round of decent shoes on ebay last year, a pair of bostonian deep brown "crown windsor" cap toe shoes and a pair of johnson & murphy burgundy oxfords. they were both worn but i had them reheeled.

the bostonians are incredible but the forefoot sole of the shoes have run its course and are very thin. i dont think i can use them much longer. the leather of shoe is still in showroom condition. can the sole be saved?

the johnson & murphys have wrinkled and begun to have discolored feathering. the soles and heels are like new. not good... is this just how J&M shoes are?

any info helps

Trip English

Honors Member
You will likely get many excellent responses to this question. Here's my input: