The Shabby Professor

Starting Member
Hello all, I'm looking for some advice on choosing a pair of lace-up dress shoes. Please be gentle, as I've only started paying proper attention to my wardrobe for about a year, and still have a lot to learn.

I've got two pair of dress shoes currently, both slip-on because
a) I live in Japan, where the shoes come on and off several times a day, and
b) When I bought them, I had no idea of the significance of the buckles, laces, and other top of the foot adornments.
c) I also don't know a thing about toes. Lots of gaps in my knowledge.

Here they are:

The brown bit loafers are from a company called MDM, formerly of Germany now out of South Korea, and were originally an unattractive peanut butter color, but I've done some work with dark brown and black polish, and I quite like them now. The black monks are Guy Laroche. I mention the brands because I'll probably be shopping around the $200USD mark.

As my name suggests, I'm a university professor (in my 40s) (hence around 200 bucks for shoes). I wear a suit only occasionally, but spend most of my time in dress trousers, collared shirts (with or without tie, depending on my mood) and sport coats (Osaka heat permitting).

However, when I go to the shoe store, I find myself baffled by the variety of laceups. Capped toes, uncapped toes, pointy toes, square toes, things with lots of fancy stitching and holes (btw, I'm not a fan of wingtips. Too much like my dad's IBM uniform). What I'm after is something that will hit the balance between the "HEY! LOOK AT ME! I HAZ LEATHER SHOES" and the "I've given up" salaryman look. Suggestions (or questions, if more information is needed) are welcome, especially in the form of pictures, as not everything has the same name once it's been slid over into Japanese.

Thanks

-val

Those shoes are very square. Avoid that, going forward.

There's not really one shoe that does all you want. You dress at three levels of formality:

1. Shirt and trousers.