Cardinals5

Honors Member
Part of the trad ethos is, or should be, to favor American-made clothing. We favor American made clothing not because it's inherently better, but because we prefer our clothing to be made the same way as it used to be (or at least the way we remember it) - if we can patronize American companies and workers so much the better. With that in mind, I've begun compiling an incomplete list of American manufacturers that still make clothing and other accoutrements pertinent to gentlemen such as ourselves.

Since I've undoubtedly missed many firms, please add to the list additional manufacturers, small businesses, and private individuals making quality products in the USA. If you can also offer reviews of lesser-known American-made products that would be welcome as well.

I would hope this thread doesn't devolve into complaints about foreign-made products (we have plenty of those threads), but simply celebrates those manufacturers that continue to offer time-honored, American-made products.

Comment on the list: There are hundreds of American manufacturers of various articles of clothing, but I have tried to limit the list to those offering products the trad would favor. I have also included some companies whose manufacturing is split (some in the US, some overseas) and tried to stick with those who primarily manufacture domestically.


Belts and Other Leather Articles
Colonial Littleton (https://www.colonellittleton.com/)
Corter Leather (vachetta leather belt)(https://corterleather.bigcartel.com/product/regular-belt)
Edgar Leather (https://www.edgarleather.com/)
J. W. Hulme (https://www.jwhulmeco.com/)
Leatherman Ltd (https://leathermanltd.com/)
Moonshine (for collegiate d-ring and web belts) (https://www.moonshineusa.com/)
Narragansett Leathers (https://www.narragansettleathers.com/)
Preston Ribbons (https://prestonribbons.com/)
Sole Survivor Leather (https://www.solesu.com/), particularly the Bison belt
Tanner Goods (utility bifold and belts) (https://www.tannergoods.com/)
Wiley Belts (https://wileybelts.com/)
Zep-Pro (https://www.zeppro.com/)

Shoes
Alden (https://www.aldenshop.com/)
Allen Edmonds (https://www.allenedmonds.com/)
Johnston & Murphy – Aristocraft line/Custom Select line (https://www.johnstonmurphy.com/)
SAS – San Antonio Shoes (https://www.sasshoes.com/index.php)

Moccasins
Arrow (https://www.arrowmoc.com/)
Quoddy (https://www.quoddy.com/)
Russell Moccasin Co. (https://www.russellmoccasin.com/index.html)
Town View Leather (https://www.townviewleather.com/)
Yuketen (https://www.yuketen.com/)

Sport Coats, Suiting, Shirts
Anderson Little (https://www.andersonlittle.com/)
Brooks Brothers - some suits, ties, and shirts (www.brooksbrothers.com/)
H. Oritsky (owned by Hartmarx, don’t think the label still exists) (https://www.horitskyco.com/)
Hamilton Custom Shirtmaker - their 1883 RTW line (https://hamilton1883.com/)
Hardwick (https://www.menssuitseparates.com/index.html)
Hartmarx/Hart Schaffner Marx (https://www.hartschaffnermarx.com/mensstore/)
Hickey Freeman (https://www.hickeyfreeman.com/)
Individualized Apparel Group (https://www.individualizedapparel.com/)
1. English-American (https://www.englishamericanco.com/)
2. H. Freeman (https://www.hfreemanco.com/)
3. Oxxford (https://www.oxxfordclothes.com/)
4. Gitman Bros. (https://www.gitman.com/)
5. Corbin (some made in USA, some in Chile)(https://www.corbintrousers.com/)
5a. Asher-Winer (owned by Corbin?) (many made in USA) (apparently no independent website address)
J. Press (some made in USA) (https://www.jpressonline.com/)
Joseph Abboud (https://www.josephabboud.com/)
Judson Wade (no apparent web presence) - the "company" represents a collaborative effort on the part of independent retailers to modify existing designs and then rebrand them. Seems mostly USA-based manufacturing.
Kenneth Gordon (https://www.kennethgordonco.com/default.asp)
Martin Greenfield (https://www.greenfieldclothiers.com/)
Mercer & Sons (https://www.mercerandsons.com/)
Nick Hilton (some, I think, made in USA)(https://nickhilton.com/)
Skip Gambert & Associates (https://www.skipgambert.com/sga/index.html)
Southwick (owned by BB) (https://www.southwickclothing.com/cgi-local/content.cgi)
Todd Shelton (https://toddshelton.com/)
Winston Tailors (no unique web address, 11 East 44th Street, NY - see Chipp2 in neckwear)


Sportswear, Casual Clothing
Columbiaknit (https://www.usa-wear.com/)
Diamond Gusset Jeans (https://gussetclothing.com/)
Pointer Brand (https://www.pointerbrand.com/)
Reyns (https://www.reyns.com/)

Trousers
Berle, including Charleston Khakis (https://www.berle.com/index.php) (most are made in USA, but not all)
Bills Khakis (https://www.billskhakis.com/)
Hertling (no apparent web presence) - seems they're distinguished by an 8th belt loop on the waistband.

Woolens and Coats
Bemidji Woolen Mills (https://www.bemidjiwoolenmills.com/)
Filson (https://www.filson.com/)
Johnson Woolen Mills (https://www.johnsonwoolenmills.com/)
Pendleton (https://www.pendleton-usa.com/) (fabric woven in USA, clothing assembled in Mexico)
Schott (www.schottnyc.com/)
Sterlingwear of Boston (https://www.sterlingwear.com/cart/)
Stormy Kromer (https://www.stormykromer.com/)
Woolrich Woolen Mills (https://www.woolrichwoolenmills.com/)

Hosiery
Cabot Hosiery Mills/Cabot & Sons/Darn Tough (https://www.darntough.com/index.html)
Crescent Hosiery (https://www.crescenthosiery.com/)
Fox River Mills (red heel socks/sock monkeys) (https://www.foxsox.com/)
Smartwool Socks (some are made in USA) (https://www.smartwool.com/)
Wigwam (some in USA) (https://www.wigwam.com/)

Neckwear and Pocket Squares
Alexander Olch (https://www.olch.com/)
Beau Ties Ltd (https://www.beautiesltd.com/)
Bow Tie Club (https://www.bowtieclub.com/)
Carrot and Gibbs (https://www.greatbows.com/)
Chipp2 (https://www.chipp2.com/)
Cordial Churchman (https://thecordialchurchman.bigcartel.com/)
David Hart & Co. (https://www.davidhartnyc.com/)
Kent Wang (https://www.kentwang.com/)
Lee Allison (www.leeallison.com/)
Maine Bows (https://www.mainebows.com/)
Mountain and Sackett (https://www.mountainandsackett.com/)
R Hanauer (https://www.bowties.com/)
Robert Talbott (https://www.roberttalbott.com/)
Sam Hober (https://www.samhober.com/)*
Vineyard Vines (https://www.vineyardvines.com/)

Accessories
AO Eyewear (https://www.aoeyewear.com/)
Bailey Hats (https://www.baileyhats.com)
Geier Glove (www.geierglove.com) - a bit rustic, but some good models.
Grosgrain ribbon watch straps (through O'Connells)(https://shop.oconnellsclothing.com/watchbands.php)**
Pajamas, boxers, t-shirts (through O'Connells)(https://shop.oconnellsclothing.com/sleepwear_underwear.php)
Shuron (eyewear) (www.shuron.com)
Stetson Hats (https://www.stetsonhat.com/)
Trafalgar (some braces made in USA) (https://www.trafalgarstore.com/)
Vintager Straps (handmade leather watch straps) (https://www.vintagerstraps.com/)

Swimwear
Birdwell Beach Britches (https://www.birdwellbeachbritches.com/)

Luggage, Briefcases, Leather Cases
Custom Hide (https://www.customhide.com/)
Duluth Pack (https://duluthpack.com/)
Filson (www.filson.com)
Gfeller Casemakers (https://www.gfellercasemakers.com/)
Ghurka (some in US)(https://www.ghurka.com/)
Port Canvas (https://www.portcanvas.com/)
Red Oxx (https://www.redoxx.com/)
Tom Bihn (https://www.tombihn.com/)

Work Boots
Carolina Footwear (www.carolinashoe.com/)
Chippewa Boots (https://www.chippewaboots.com/)
Danner (https://www.danner.com/)
Gokey through Orvis (https://www.orvis.com/gokey-boots.html)
Justin Boots (https://www.justinboots.com/)
Red Wing (only a small number made in USA, but they're the trad ones) (https://www.redwingshoes.com/)
Wolverine Boots and Shoes (a few, but especially the 1,000 Mile Boot) (https://www.wolverine.com/US/Main.aspx)
White's Boots (https://www.whitesboots.com/)

LL Bean - Bean Boots/Maine Hunting Shoe (https://www.llbean.com/)

* Honorable mention
** I am unable to determine the manufacturer.
 
Last edited:

bd79cc

Super Member
Great list. Not only does it include all the usual suspects, but it's well-organized and easy to use.

Thanks for the time and effort, Cardinals5!
 

Cardinals5

Honors Member
Well done Cardinal. It breaks my heart that so much of Filson's goods are now Chinese made.
I debated myself on Filson, but they seem to have enough American-made offerings to include them. Orvis didn't even get consideration :(


Thanks everyone else for the additional suggestions. I'll add them to the list right now. Anything suggested within the next 24 hours (my limit for editing the original post) will be added.
 

TradMichael

Active Member with Corp. Privileges
Chipp 2 / Winston Tailors neckties, scarves, MTM clothing (https://chipp2.com/)

O'Connells just about everything (https://shop.oconnellsclothing.com/)
(They are very serious on this principle and won't even stock clothing that isn't Made in USA, with the usual exceptions of Canada, Great Britain, Austrian Geigers and it seems little else)

Vineyard Vines ties and belts (https://www.vineyardvines.com/)

Finally I've been meaning to see for myself whether Judson Wade qualifies---they are, I think, co-op owned by a number of American men's clothiers. Saw some of their sport shirts that looked pretty sweet but I don't know if they're fashion forward overall or not. (https://www.dlsoutfitters.com/judsonwade.cfm)
 
Last edited:

PJC in NoVa

Connoisseur
I think it came up on threads a while ago that MacCluer shirts are no longer made in the USA.

If you read the "About Us" section of their website, they tout themselves as "American based" and refer to various unspecified "factories" that make their shirts, which are giveaways that they're producing offshore.

https://www.famcorporate.com/aboutMain.php

You will also search the site in vain for the company's US physical address. If they had a US factory still running, they'd almost certainly tout that on their site.
 

Cardinals5

Honors Member
O'Connells just about everything (https://shop.oconnellsclothing.com/)
(They are very serious on this principle and won't even stock clothing that isn't Made in USA, with the usual exceptions of Canada, Great Britain, Austrian Geigers and it seems little else)

Finally I've been meaning to see for myself whether Judson Wade qualifies---they are, I think, co-op owned by a number of American men's clothiers. Saw some of their sport shirts that looked pretty sweet but I don't know if they're fashion forward overall or not. (https://www.dlsoutfitters.com/judsonwade.cfm)
I'll add Justin Wade because several news reports I just read indicate that the majority of their clothing is made in US factories. If someone knows differently, please let me know.

I left out O'Connells, and should probably remove J. Press, because they don't manufacture their own clothing, but are a retail outlet. There's already a list of trad retailers in the Hall of Fame Threads sticky.

I was also torn about custom shirtmakers, but I think Alex already put together an excellent list over on the Fashion Forum.
 
Last edited:

TradMichael

Active Member with Corp. Privileges
I think it came up on threads a while ago that MacCluer shirts are no longer made in the USA.
Made in India, at least as of about 3 years ago.

I've always liked Pendleton but the other day I saw one of their new wools tagged "Made in Mexico," so you have to watch out.

Also Johnson Woolen Mills (https://www.johnsonwoolenmills.com)
Haven't tried them but their Jac shirts, Adirondack pants etc might be a good substitute for Woolrich stuff. (https://www.stillmadeinusa.com/blog/2005/11/woolrich-inc-then-and-now.html)

Another thought ... how about particular products of strong trad interest that are made in USA although their manufacturer now strikes out overall? Last time I bought a pair of Converse sneakers (ok, it was a while ago), it seemed like a lot was made in USA. But now not even the Jack Purcells are made here (nor do they even really look like Jack Purcells). But LL Bean still makes the Bean Boot here in Maine.
 

TradMichael

Active Member with Corp. Privileges
I left out O'Connells, and should probably remove J. Press, because they don't manufacture their own clothing, but are a retail outlet. There's already a list of trad retailers in the Hall of Fame Threads sticky.
You've just made me realize that I don't know who has manufactured a number of my jackets. :eek:

Andover Shop suits, cashmere patch coats, trousers (https://theandovershop.com/)

Reyn Spooner aloha shirts, jackets (https://www.reyns.com/)

Southern Proper ties, bowties & belts (https://www.southernproper.com/)
Undoubtedly more in this blast from the past: https://askandyaboutclothes.com/community/showthread.php?t=56360
 
Last edited:
Your email address will not be publicly visible. We will only use it to contact you to confirm your post.

IMPORTANT: BEFORE POSTING PLEASE CHECK THE DATE OF THE LAST POST OF THIS THREAD. IF IT'S VERY OLD, PLEASE CONSIDER REGISTERING FIRST, AND STARTING A NEW THREAD ABOUT THIS TOPIC.

Deals/Steals