manners Manners for a young man

thevalz

Starting Member
And so I write my first post. Hopefully I'm not doing something disastrous in making it.

After having spent a few days reading these fora, I realize I very much appreciate the.. attitude, I suppose.. that seems to pervade AAAC.

I am a 20-year-old college student. Having received negligible schooling (and instruction!) on etiquette, I have lots of questions to ask.

The first of these:
How should I appropriately address my college professors? I go to school in PA, and my campus culture is very liberal. I never know whether to call a professor "Professor Surname" versus "Professor Given Name" versus "Doctor Surname" etc. A friend of mine ardently refuses to address professors by anything other than their first name -- he believes ignoring norms is a matter of self respect.

I am presently working in an internship at a startup company -- How do I address my coworkers? Being an engineer and my workplace being a startup, the "rules" are very lax. However, because I am not a Professional Engineer, AND because I am still a student, I feel that I SHOULD be demonstrating significant deference to my superiors. Do I go with seems usual run of business (calling everyone their given name)? Or do I act as I feel I ought to?

As a final, incredibly broad question:
How should I interact with my peers? How hard should I try to dress, speak, and carry myself "well"? Oftentimes it seems that "well" and appropriate are incongruous. I always wonder if it is better to be indistinguishable in a crowd of peers or to stand out. It seems that the greatest mandate of my generation has been an imposition of mediocrity and normalcy. I've seen advice that it's bad to stand out sometimes, but OK -- even good -- to stand out at other times! Is it better to be decried as a fop and a dandy or be another one of the guys?

Haha. Woe is me. :cry:

I'm something of an obsessive aesthete. I look forward to hearing ya'lls opinions.