Nantucket Reds?

Submariner

Active Member with Corp. Privileges
Who wears them? What color shirt would you wear? Footwear? And the obvious quandry of...red socks? Does the "socks match pants rule" still apply to casual wear? Should one go sockless? I'm thinking about buying a pair. I am a recent Ole Miss grad and wearing red/seersucker/madras pants while tailgaiting is a common move among the younger set. Seersucker for the games during the warmer months of the season; madras, reds or chinos thereafter. I've done the Seersucker and Madras, but haven't yet taken the step to the reds. What do you think?

Sweetness

Who wears them?
Whoever wants to, but started w/ those who summer at Nantucket.

What color shirt would you wear?
Something conservative, such as white or navy.

Footwear?
Topsiders preferably.

Should one go sockless?
Definately.

Joe Tradly

Elite Member
Submariner,

There is a wealth of knowledge about Nantucket Reds at Ask Andy. There is at least a thread dedicated to each of your questions. The good people here will take a little time to respond, but you should also search a bit through the archives to read previous posts.

A few of my own opinions:

Recently, we discussed wearing Reds in the fall. There's great debate about this. I go down on the side that reds are a summer pant. Red cords, or heavier cotton chinos in red are fine, but traditional, Nantucket reds are for summer (again, my opinion).

Socks: I've never worn socks with reds. Weejuns in cordovan, Sperry topsiders are my shoes of choice, neither with socks.

Shirts: I usually wear a white or blue ocbd, or white or navy polo.

I also would caution against madras after labor day. You might see it on the "younger set", but there is almost no debate about madras being a strictly summer fabric.

Your last question: Yes, you should get a pair. They are the classic summer pant.

JB

MichaelB