Opera for Beginners.

KMP

Good evening everyone. I have come to ask you all for any knowledge that you can share about Opera music. I am a college student who is getting near graduation and I've seen a great change in my tastes in virtually every aspect of my life, and I've become less in touch with the music I use to listen to. I don't have any first hand experience with this genre, but I have heard just bits and snippets of Opera type music, and I must say that I was always taken back by it. I think there was a scene in the movie Philadelphia that played one gloomy yet inspiring peice in the backround.

I'd really like to know which Operas/Singers I should start off with. A few of them would actually serve me better. Maybe a small range of different types so that I may find something that best appeals to me. Thanks in advance!

Kav

Inactive user
Asking for a few artists is like eating appetizers and passing on the main courses. Do a websearch for KUSC, the classical music station out of USC in Los Angeles. You can hear the programming on the web. Sundays during the performing season they broadcast the performances from the MET filled in with interviews, background information and older performances before the actual broadcast. There is a relatively inexpensive CD hitting the stores of 'essential and classic performances' It's a great sampler. Opera can range from the delightfull light comedy and satire of Gilbert and Sullivan to the marathon productions of Wagner at Bayreuth.

Concordia

Elite Member
Opera is a long journey, and a good guide (a favored composer, or a few artists who can be counted on to give satisfaction) will give it a jump-start.

MET broadcasts are a good free sampler.