Heavy Wool Trousers

Elwood_P_Dowd

Starting Member
Apologies if this is addressed somewhere, I didn't see what I'm looking for exactly but I am new to the search. In fact I'm a neophyte to this in general so I'm sure I will stumble all over this question.

I'm a far bigger fan of the look, feel and cut of much older trousers/pants. I do not like the way modern pants are made to ride lower. I much prefer the high or natural waist. The heavier wool also drapes(?) much nicer IMO. I'm also a big fan of pleats, American style (Outward I believe?).
My question, is it possible to find a close approximation of classic pants these days?
Does anyone sell 12 or 14 oz wool trousers or the higher waist or should I just have them made? Am I making this more difficult than it needs to be? (I usually do)

Thanks for any advice.

PJC in NoVa

Connoisseur
Apologies if this is addressed somewhere, I didn't see what I'm looking for exactly but I am new to the search. In fact I'm a neophyte to this in general so I'm sure I will stumble all over this question.

I'm a far bigger fan of the look, feel and cut of much older trousers/pants. I do not like the way modern pants are made to ride lower. I much prefer the high or natural waist. The heavier wool also drapes(?) much nicer IMO. I'm also a big fan of pleats, American style (Outward I believe?).
My question, is it possible to find a close approximation of classic pants these days?
Does anyone sell 12 or 14 oz wool trousers or the higher waist or should I just have them made? Am I making this more difficult than it needs to be? (I usually do)

Thanks for any advice.
http://www.pakeman.co.uk/proddetail.php?prod=5693

http://www.pakeman.co.uk/proddetail.php?prod=0451

CuffDaddy

Connoisseur
Ben Silver generally cuts their trousers in a classic style, complete with inward/forward pleats. I don't know what they've got this year, but I've gotten some very substantial-weight trousers from them in the past.

Elwood_P_Dowd

Starting Member