NYtrad

I am a recent college grad starting a job on Wall Street in the near future. I have been searching for a pair of penny loafers that are dressy enough to wear to work but also suitable to wear on weekends with a pair of shorts.

After some research I think I have decided on the following in burgundy:
http://www.aldenshop.com/DrawOneShoe.asp?CategoryID=42

I stumbled across an earlier thread on the topic of "Penny loafers and shorts" and a few members posted about Alden 986s. I think I found them on the Alden site: http://www.aldenshop.com/DrawOneShoe.asp?CategoryID=44

I am looking for a timeless, traditional penny loafer, in a traditional color (which I think is burgundy.)

I could be mistaken, but IMHO the 986s look very casual. Alden even calls them the "Leisure Handsewn Moccasin." Am I mistaken? I also think that a full strap loafer looks dressier, is that correct?

The AE Randolphs are beautiful but I just cannot afford a $525 pair of loafers right now.

Any recommendations? What is your opinion of my choice, the
Alden "Full Strap Slip-On?"

I would appreciate any feedback.

JDMills

Active Member with Corp. Privileges
I'm not sure penny loafers are right for a Wall Street firm. My uncle works at an investment bank and no one would dare come into work in penny loafers, especially on a day in front of clients, lace ups only. Personally I find them to be a very casual shoe, I don't wear mine with a suit, only slacks. I'm interested to see what others opinions are.

Kurt N

I am a recent college grad starting a job on Wall Street in the near future. I have been searching for a pair of penny loafers that are dressy enough to wear to work but also suitable to wear on weekends with a pair of shorts.