Preventing Excessive Pinpoint Wrinkling

superpacker

Active Member with Corp. Privileges
United States
Florida
NAPLES
I am fine with a little wrinkling, usually don't even press my ocbd's just catch them right out of the dryer. But is it just me or does pinpoint wrinkle a lot! I don't want non-iron shirts, and don't like professional laundering (makes me feel like I'm renting my shirt) so is there any way to prevent excessive wrinkling when ironing this cloth (a little is okay)? I'm new to pinpoint, but the 2 pinpoints I have (PRL) look rough whenever I take my jacket off, even if I ironed it.

Eric W S

United States
Illinois
Chicago
I am fine with a little wrinkling, usually don't even press my ocbd's just catch them right out of the dryer. But is it just me or does pinpoint wrinkle a lot! I don't want non-iron shirts, and don't like professional laundering (makes me feel like I'm renting my shirt) so is there any way to prevent excessive wrinkling when ironing this cloth (a little is okay)? I'm new to pinpoint, but the 2 pinpoints I have (PRL) look rough whenever I take my jacket off, even if I ironed it.
They will wrinkle without starch under a jacket. It's normal. Unless you get a non-iron shirt. The wrinkles will release throughout the day if it is a good shirt. Part of the charm of 100% cotton IMO.

Youthful Repp-robate

Honors Member
United States
New Jersey
Montclair
I like pinpoint for all but the dressiest occasions, because it wrinkles much less than poplin. I think it's really tough to do trad if you don't embrace the odd wrinkle -- or at least adopt a relaxed attitude towards them. Shows you're alive.

Use starch if you want, but supposedly it's bad for shirts (don't know if this is spray starch or just the kind that's laundered in), and it feels less comfortable to me.

Nathan Detroit