Tell me about Munson lasts

Discussion in 'Andy's Fashion Forum' started by tocqueville, Nov 18, 2014.

1. tocqueville

tocqueville Suspended

United States
    DC
    Washington
    During my online perusals I stumbled upon Munson lasts and the fact that many GI-issued shoes/boots used it and some shoe/boot makers still do (Russell, Chippewa, Redwing, etc.) for certain products. I like the idea of it: a relatively scientific effort to develop a sort of one-size-fits-all last optimized for lots of walking/marching. I suppose that the catch, if any, is that it is not sleek.

Here's a good discussion: http://www.russellmoccasin.com/muson-last

I have no personal experience with anything built on a Munson, but I know that many of you do have at least one Munson-lasted shoe in your rotation. What are your thoughts on it? Is it everything Mr. Munson hoped? Is there a downside, i.e. is it noticeably blobby? Why is it not more common?

2. hardline_42

hardline_42 Honors Member

United States
    New Jersey
    Mount Holly
    I've had several Munson-lasted boots. They're very roomy in the forefoot and have a nice tight fit in the heel. I find them to fit similarly to modern "barefoot" or minimalist shoes that have ample room in the toe box to allow the bones of the feet to spread on impact for a more natural strike. As for blobbiness, they definitely have a Mickey Mouse effect going on but they're work boots and I don't expect them to be sleek. Cap toe boots tend to emphasize the blobby toe.

3. tocqueville

tocqueville Suspended

United States
    DC
    Washington
    Since I have a wide foot but relatively narrow heal, that appeals to me.