Thoughts on Shell #8 Color for wearability?

At Law

United States
Nebraska
Omaha
Greetings,

I have been contemplating purchasing another pair of cordovan tassels and am torn between #8 and black.

The question I am pondering is whether #8 (burgundy) is really a universal color or is it somewhat outdated?

I am a lawyer and wear tassel loafers with suits quite frequently. Many of my suits are shades of gray, glen plaid, and a couple of blue hues.

I find myself reaching for my black tassels more frequently than my old Brooks #8's.

Is this in my mind, or is #8 actually an outdated color of shoe these days as compared to black and shades of brown?

Thank you for your thoughts.

Tom

Corcovado

United States
KY
Lexington
#8 is not outdated at all IMO. That said, if you personally prefer black and will get more use out of black, then that seems to be the better choice for you.

Color 8

Active Member with Corp. Privileges
United States
PA - Pennsylvania
Philadelphia
Personally, I feel that black is dated and much less versatile.
I wear"Color 8" (obviously ;)) or brown all the time, but only rarely wear black. Black has it's place, but it has fallen out of my normal rotation.

TKI67

United States
Texas
Austin
Greetings,

I have been contemplating purchasing another pair of cordovan tassels and am torn between #8 and black.

The question I am pondering is whether #8 (burgundy) is really a universal color or is it somewhat outdated?

I am a lawyer and wear tassel loafers with suits quite frequently. Many of my suits are shades of gray, glen plaid, and a couple of blue hues.

I find myself reaching for my black tassels more frequently than my old Brooks #8's.

Is this in my mind, or is #8 actually an outdated color of shoe these days as compared to black and shades of brown?

Thank you for your thoughts.

Tom
#8 is timeless and perfect for your wardrobe.

eagle2250

Connoisseur/Curmudgeon Emeritus - Moderator
Harmony, FL
United States
Florida
Harmony